Car LPG Airbox
Some advice sought from those familiar with cars running on LPG especially the Ford variety.

LPG sometimes backfires and makes a mess of the airbox covers, by cracking them. I got a replacement which came off a Tickford car.

My old box has a hose going into the upper portion of the box, not the main air intake. as can be seen in pics. The newer box doesnt have this hose inlet as the older one no doubt was drilled into by LPG installers.

I dont know the function of this hose but suspiciously it tends to leave oily residue in the upper portion of airbod which is already past the paper filter to air intake areas to injectors. Im a novice at all this so I could be wrong on some a/m info.

So question is what is the purpose of this hose (about 1/2" diameter) and should I drill a new hole for it in same position on newer airbox.

Any assistance appreciated.

Some pics, older upper box has hole on side, newer box lower section has springs to allow non damage in any backfiring.

[Image: SigPic100.jpg] Copper/Silver - The original, the rest are just copies.
When I had an LPG powered car, the lid for the airbox was secured with springs. when the engine back fired, there was enough give in the springs for the resultant pressure to escape without damaginging the airbox.

If the old box had some hose from the lpg system going into the airbox I'd refit it. (my opinion anyway)

I also found my car back fired when the ignition leads got old, or dirty, or one broke down. If the connects on the ends of the leads are a bit sus, or the resistance in the lead is too high, the spark travelling along the lead can sometimes find an easier path to jump across to another lead. If the cylinder at the end of this lead is on the fueling stroke, BANG. Have a look at the leads and the connectors on the ends.

Also, lift the bonnet in the dark(in your garage) with the motor running. You might be amzed at what you may see.
Regards,

Busdriver (aka Les)